Yes, VeraVida Vitamins are vegan-friendly. The ingredients contained in each capsule support a vegan diet:
- Vitamin A
- Vitamin C
- Vitamin D
- Vitamin E
- Vitamin K
- Vitamin B6
- Vitamin B12
- Pantothenic acid
Proprietary Organic Mushroom Blend:
- Reishi mushroom
- Shiitake mushroom
- Maitake mushroom
- Chaga mushroom
- Lion’s mane mushroom
What many people are unaware of, is that even though the ingredients in supplements and vitamins that come in powder form are vegan-friendly, sometimes the pill capsule is not.
There are five different types of pill capsules that are used in manufacturing powder supplements:
Hard gelatin capsule - Composed of gelatin and purified water. These are identified usually with two different colors.
Soft gelatin capsule - Composed of soft gelatin. They typically resemble an opaque color and are easy to squish or bend.
HPMC capsule (HYDROXYPROPLYMETHYL CELLULOSE) - Composed by the hydrolysis of plants. These are typically identified with one colored half shell and one transparent half shell. Or entirely clear shells.
Pullulan capsule - Composed of pullulan and purified water. These are typically identified with one colored half shell and one transparent half shell. Or entirely clear shells.
Enteric-coated capsule - Made by applying an enteric coating to other common capsules or other processing. These are not as commonly used and are specifically designed for the release of medication in the intestine. This is recommended for medications that may react to stomach acid or lose their potency if interaction occurs.
VeraVida Vitamins exclusively use pullalan and HPMC capsules. These are currently the only vegan and vegetarian options.CxContent::END::content - article::body